Glossary of Terms

one of the principal Upanishads
a murderer who, after coming to the touch of Chaitanya Mahaprabhu, became highly realized
one of the three qualities of nature (guna), expressing sloth, restlessness, and idleness
the body
(“sloth”) sleep; drowsiness
a system of spiritual practice
the sixth of the seven upper spheres of existence (loka). Corresponds to the pituitary (soul center).
purification, self-discipline, austerity, penance, self-mortification
ordinarily this means doing penance and austerities, but the metaphorical meaning is to watch the breath as an oblation in the holy fire that maintains the heat in the body. Tapas means that in every breath one loves God and remains alert.
those who offer oblations to the fire
one who can burn
to offer ghee in the fire for a long period and to chant some mantra with every oblation. But the metaphorical meaning of tapo yajña is to offer the breath to the soul, which is the divine fire in the cranium.
principles or elements
the place of pilgrimage
fire principle
fearlessness, valor — through the power of regular meditation the advanced student develops mental strength and can easily remain in the upper center for a longer periods of time. This powerful quality is called tejas.
the divine eye, the spiritual eye, also known as the eye of wisdom
to stay
a state of samadhi
the “silver” age in the Vedic cosmological system of cyclical time
three, triple
the three Vedas (Rik, Sama, Yajur)
a fifteenth century seeker who became realized through good company, and later author of the famous Hindi spiritual treatise Ramacharita Manasa.
(“fourth stage of ecstasy”): another name for nirvikalpa samadhi
(“abandonment”): it refers to renunciation of all action, but not outwardly. Inner detachment is possible only when one is meditating sincerely and surrendering completely to the will of God.